Madrid with my daughter

Hi.  I’m Paul and welcome to my blog.   For as long as I can remember I have had a passion for travel.  Sadly like most people my travel was tempered by real life and the responsibilities that come with a wife, two children and three dogs. Then at age 45, I unexpectedly found myself divorced, out of a job and starting my life over essentially from scratch.  I made a life changing decision to spend five months in Nepal, primarily as a volunteer English teacher at a Buddhist monastery to try to recover from the divorce (call it my my own version of Eat, Prey, Love minus the love part).  Upon returning to the U.S. I was determined to have a different type of life.   Five years have passed and I am now in a position where I am able to travel around the world.

A few things you should know about me: I am not looking to make any money off this site, but I will never say no to a free drink or pizza; I’ve been a vegetarian for more than 25 years so you will not find a lot of food stories here unless they involve chocolate or pizza; My job is as a natural disaster lawyer (my focus is hurricanes) and thus my work is weather dependent and when no storms I can travel; I am an avid tournament poker player and several of my trips will be scheduled around tournaments (I try to spend June & July in Las Vegas for the World Series of Poker); and Most importantly no matter how budget the hotel, I believe that there is no reason not to have good toilet paper (bring a roll of Charmin).  My goal is to spend the majority of time between now and the end of 2020 traveling (hopefully the weather will cooperate and no storms).

I started this website to encourage others to see the world and hopefully make going on an adventure seem a little less daunting.  To me travel, adventures and exploring the world are what makes life worth living.  You may get a little bit of knowledge from this website, but can’t learn anything unless you put down your computer, laptop or phone and go discover on your own.

Have a great trip.

Paul